Scotland regulation

Scotland Agent Regulation Is Coming – Are You Ready?

If you’re a letting agent working or managing property in Scotland you need to understand the upcoming Letting Agent Code of Practice and will need to join a Register of Letting Agents. We’re expecting the Register to be open for applications in January 2018 and the Scottish Government have set an application deadline of 30 September 2018.

The Code of Practice is being introduced with the intention of protecting landlords and tenants and eradicating poor quality housing. It states that it will “help raise standards (where this is needed), and help build a more effective private rented sector that meets the needs of tenants, landlords and letting agents”.

What Do You Need To Do?

Qualifications and Training

Registration requires evidence that everyone involved in lettings holds a recent, relevant qualification covering essential aspects of letting agency work at Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) level 6 or above. So far Propertymark Qualifications (formerly NFoPP Awarding Body) is one of only two training providers approved by the Scottish Government.

If you have achieved the Propertymark Qualifications Level 6 Technical Award in Residential Letting & Property Management in the last three years you will meet the requirements. If you achieved your qualification more than three years ago you will be required to do 20 hours additional training. Take a look at the official guidance from the Scottish Government to see what forms of training are acceptable.

Fit and Proper Person Test

All of those applying to be on the register will need to meet standards as laid out in a ‘fit and proper person test’.  If you are applying on behalf of your company the Scottish Government may need to conduct the test on multiple people within the company. To find out more details about this test visit the website.

Client Money and Professional Indemnity

To be fully compliant all agencies must ensure they hold client money in a dedicated client account. Many agents have found that banks and building societies provide easier access to dedicated accounts for our members.

You must also belong to a Client Money Protection (CMP) scheme and hold Professional indemnity insurance. ARLA Propertymark membership requires Professional Indemnity Insurance and offers a CMP scheme which meets the levels required in the Code of Practice.

What If I Don’t Register

It will be a criminal offence to carry out letting agency work in Scotland if you aren’t on the register - with the possibility of fines of up to £50,000 and prison sentences of up to 6 months for those convicted.

For more information visit

How Can We Help You Comply?

Qualification and Training Bundles

For a limited period, we are offering study support and workbooks for Propertymark Qualifications Level 6 Technical Award alongside membership as part of a number of flexible bundles to support you in complying with the new regulations.

Bundles will include workbooks for the Level 6 Technical Award in Residential Lettings and Property Management as well as face-to-face study support courses and membership. To register your interest please email

Bundle 1

Save £550

This bundle includes:
- Qualification Level 6 Workbook 
- Two days' study support
- ARLA Propertymark membership

More info

Bundle 2

Save £470

This bundle includes:
- Two days' study support
- ARLA Propertymark membership

More info

Bundle 3

Save £200

This bundle includes:
- Qualification Level 6 Workbook
- ARLA Propertymark Membership

More info

Training Dates

If you are currently studying towards the Propertymark Qualifications (formerly NFoPP Awarding Body) Level 6 Technical Award in Residential Letting & Property Management we have arranged a series of training dates across Scotland to help support your learning. We offer training support in more areas across Scotland than other training providers and at a lower cost. Our training also serves you as a route into membership

Technical Award Support Course Day 1 
Covering units 1 and 2

  • Aberdeen - 03 October
  • Dundee - 04 October
  • Glasgow - 5 October
  • Glasgow - 6 December
  • Edinburgh - 10 October

Technical Award Support Course Day 2  
Covering units 3 and 4

  • Dundee - 13 September
  • Glasgow - 14 September
  • Edinburgh - 19 September
  • Inverness - 21 September
  • Aberdeen - 01 November
  • Dundee - 02 November
  • Edinburgh - 07 November
  • Glasgow - 08 November
  • Inverness - 09 November
  • Glasgow - 14 December